• Smallville V.O.D.

  • Listen to our Online Radio Show

  • OSCK Magazine – Download/View Online Now!

    For Latest Issue, click on Thumb!

    Free Image Hosting
  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    Virginia Lori Jennin… on LOIS STORY IN SUPERMAN ANNUAL…
    Mina on WHY A BLACK LOIS MATTERS
    Let’s Get Our… on Something For Your Pull L…
    Superman: A Celebrat… on You Asked For It, You Got It!…
    Lois Lane is Celebra… on You Asked For It, You Got It!…
  • Blog Stats

    • 553,887 hits
  • Get the CCC Widget

  • Multipleverses Twitter Updates

Margot Kidder is nobody’s damsel in distress

Here is a video interview with Margot talking about lost footage from Superman 2

Thanks to Loretta on Yahoo for finding this gem!

http://www.gaylesbiantimes.com/?id=12791

by Tim Parks
Published Thursday, 07-Aug-2008 in issue 1076

Margot Kidder’s quintessential portrayal of reporter Lois Lane in the 1970s and ’80s Superman films

A Donald Strachey Mystery

Margot Kidder in On the Other Hand, Death: A Donald Strachey Mystery

redefined the damsel-in-distress role, proving the character was as resilient as her superhero counterpart – a trait also shared by the 59-year-old actress.
While Kidder can’t bounce bullets off her chest or thwart hell-bent villains seeking world domination, she’s had to use her own iron-will to battle manic depression.

In 1996, when one manic episode became public, Kidder soldiered on and continued acting, proving she is every bit as strong as The Man of Steel.

The Gay & Lesbian Times talked with Kidder about her turn as Superman’s main squeeze, her days as a scream queen, and her latest role as Dorothy, a tough-as-nails lesbian in the here!TV film, On The Other Hand, Death: A Donald Strachey Mystery.

Kidder also chatted about her life off-screen – her Montana home and the joys of being a grandmother. Before chatting with us, Kidder set up a dunk tank for her grandson’s birthday party, and during the interview, she was gracious, candid and warm.
Nowadays, Kidder says what keeps acting fresh is “that the whole thing of it is fun; it’s different every day – compare that to actually working? It’s just that I love everything about it, I’ve been hooked on movies and movie-making forever.”

Kidder’s love affair with film began in her home country, Canada.
“I was a little girl in mining camps in Canada and in Quebec in those days, kids weren’t allowed to go to the movies,” she said. “So, the only way you got to see movies was when the priest would show them in the church basement. I saw a couple of movies, and one of the bush pilots brought in a movie magazine, and I decided I wanted to be a movie star.

Margot Kidder as Lois Lane

Margot Kidder as Lois Lane

“I didn’t know anything about acting. Then when I was 11, my mom took us kids to New York, and I got to go see Bye Bye Birdie with Dick Van Dyke and Michael J. Pollard, and I sat there and said, ‘That’s what I’m going to do.’ It was just something that I always knew I’d do, and I never let it occur to me I wouldn’t be successful; I was so single-minded and dumb about it, when I was young, I didn’t know there’d be a chance I’d fail – so you just kind of plow ahead.”

What Kidder saw in The Big Apple, buoyed by her determination, launched her to fame as Daily Planet reporter Lois Lane in 1978’s Superman.

Kidder shared why her Lois Lane was different from previous incarnations.

“She was so well-written,” Kidder said. “And that was Tom Mankiewicz, who did the final rewrite, although he’s called a creative consultant – and he brought this fabulous, almost ’30s sensibility to it, so that there was a wit to the lines, and it was amusing on many levels. When you’re given lines as delicious as the ones he wrote for me, you kinda can’t lose.”

Read the rest at GLT

Leave a Reply

