Smallville’s Lois Lane, Erica Durance, Interview

December 12th, 2007 Interview


I guess I’ll start off by going back a few years. Can you just tell us how you ended up in the role of Lois Lane on Smallville?

It was basically a little bit of a lottery, as everything is in this business, but I had been up here working in Vancouver for a long time — this is where I live — doing guest star roles, and just trying to make my way into the business. There was a rumor that this character was going to be coming on to Smallville, so my manager was telling me you need to get ready, we’re gonna suss it out and we’re going to find an audition. My husband is also my acting coach, so we got all trained up for it. I really didn’t think much about it, because at this point I was not very enamored with the industry and the way things went, and I said okay, well I’ll go in. I was a little bit begrudging about it because by that time I was ready for a break. True to form, that ended up being the one that I got. It just has been a real whirlwind since then. It started out as a four episode arc, and then they’re like there’s going to be a couple more, and a couple more, and so far it’s been 13 every season, and now this is my fourth year in.

How much pressure was there for you, stepping into such an iconic character?

Well, there was huge pressure. There’s pressure for anyone doing any role, but I think you hit it when you said it right there, it’s a very beloved character. Everyone has their specific idea of who Lois Lane is for them, and you have your overall blueprint, but then you have to try to make it your own. That’s the only way to try to stay truthful to what you’re doing. In Smallville we had a little bit of extra leeway because we were just trying to play Lois younger, so I was able to make mistakes as Lois would make mistakes, just kind of finding her way in Smallville and finding out who she is. In the past few years we’ve kind of been introduced to Lois, her quirkiness, and the repartee she has with Clark, which is really fun. Then slowly, as the seasons have gone by, she’s starting to find out that she really likes this journalism thing. She’s getting to go out and do more and more, which of course I’m enjoying.

You joined a cast that had been together for a few seasons. Was it hard integrating yourself into that cast, especially at the beginning of your run when you were doing episodes here and there?

It was fun. Most people expect that there’s going to be all sorts of chaos and such on the set, but this set is really, really cool. Everybody is very down to earth, so I was just able to find my way. I don’t ever push it to be something that it’s not. You just kind of go in, get to know people, then as things progress it gets better and better. Right from the start all of them were very open, very nice, and welcoming, so it was an easy fit for me.

You can read and listen to the entire interview at ‘BuddyTv.com Or you can listen to the interview HERE

Leave a Reply

